your homelands

images at times flash by as i’m enjoying life on my own
being/skin feeling the sun, the warmth, the pressure of it all
constantly designing and destroying and rebuilding my home

depictions are oft in colour, in grey, or even in flavours
tasting the joy, the sad, the leisure of it all
my tongue winces, recoils, laughs, and it savours

sometimes words go by as i’m believing i’m over it now
reading the quotes, the seventh seal, the memories crawl back
then they hurdle fast forward to remind me of plans, of that vow

promises made such a long time ago in belief
that we’d come together and swear to take the chance and fall
but in the end to this day we never did leap

your homelands: foreign and strange only to me
keep calling my heart even though i am buried so deep
your homelands: foreign but connected possibly?
because my being is divided by three

your homelands: foreign and strange only to me
keep calling to my heart
i can’t sleep

82178904_1430347500467875_8717998916060053504_n

Leave a comment